¿Do I have another chance to be forgiven for the sin of adultery?

Oscar Martínez: The question is this, brother:

I was a leader of an Evangelical Christian Church here in El Salvador, but sadly, Satan deceived me and I fell into adultery. I have been told that I have no forgiveness for that adultery, but I have had only that wrong and I try not to make that mistake again, never to sin again. My question is if I have another opportunity, brother.

Brother Eli: Brother Oscar, there is no more forgiveness for those who intentionally committed sin, when they have the fullness of the knowledge of the truth. But if you lacked knowledge and sin was committed in ignorance, according to the apostle Paul in Hebrews 10:26…

Hebrews 10:26

For if we go on sinning deliberately after receiving the knowledge of the truth, there no longer remains a sacrifice for sins,

For if we go on sinning deliberately after receiving the knowledge of the truth. What does the phrase mean: receiving the knowledge of the truth? In Hebrews 6:4-6

Hebrews 6

4 For it is impossible, in the case of those who have once been enlightened, who have tasted the heavenly gift, and have shared in the Holy Spirit,

5 And have tasted the good word of God, and the powers of the world to come,

6 If they shall fall away, to renew them again unto repentance; seeing they crucify to themselves the Son of God afresh, and put him to an open shame.

It’s very clear. The words “knowledge of the true” is what the apostle Paul is telling the Hebrews: in the case of those who have once been enlightened, who have tasted the heavenly gift, and have shared in the Holy Spirit.

Pay attention, brother: they were made participants of the Holy Spirit. A member of a true church is equipped by the Holy Spirit to strengthen the weakness of the flesh to avoid sin, but if you are not strengthened by the Holy Spirit, you may fall into transgression. That’s why at 10:26 “after that we have received the knowledge of the truth” in the true knowledge of the truth, load with it. For that the words of Paul, in 6:4 of Hebrews: who have once been enlightened “tasted of the heavenly gift”, you have heavenly gift, “and were made” means that you have participation of the Holy Spirit. You’re strengthened by the Holy Spirit, after they taste the good word of God. “Taste”, isn’t appropriated, must be they experienced. New International Version: “And who have experienced the good word of God and the powers of the world to come

Hebrews 6:6

and then have fallen away, to restore them again to repentance, since they are crucifying once again the Son of God to their own harm and holding him up to contempt.

The New International Version is more appropriated.

Let’s go to begin in the verse 4

Hebrews 6:4

For it is impossible, in the case of those who have once been enlightened, who have tasted the heavenly gift, and have shared in the Holy Spirit,

Hebrews 6:5

and have experienced the goodness of the word of God and the powers of the age to come,

If all those things happened to you, after deliberately and you continued in sin, there isn’t more forgiveness. There isn’t more sacrifice for the sin. But in your case, brother Oscar, I can’t believe that you are illuminated, due to you’re a member of a false church. You aren’t received the full knowledge of the true. For that the most important is to pay attention to the word of the Bible that says “participants in the Holy Spirit”. I can’t believe that you have received the Saint Spirit to strengthen you. For that, maybe the adultery you committed, was because you didn’t have knowledge due to you aren’t in the true church.

The apostle Paul experienced this situation. Let’s go to read 1 Timothy 1:13

1 Timothy 1:13

Who was before a blasphemer, and a persecutor, and injurious: but I obtained mercy, because I did it ignorantly in unbelief.

But I obtained mercy, because I did it ignorantly in unbelief. If sin is done because of ignorance and disbelief, because of the lack of knowledge of the truth and lack of strengthening of the Holy Spirit, God is a merciful God, who can consider these things. Do you understand, brother Oscar?

Brother Oscar: Yeah! I understood. Thank you so much, brother. God bless you.

Brother Eli: I’m inviting you listen to indoctrination sessions. In order to add something, bro. Oscar, I don’t want only teach you and all the viewers to avoid the sin. I only want give you, hope. In Corinth church they were considered as children. He said in 1 Corinthians:

1 Corinthians 3:1

And I, brethren, could not speak unto you as unto spiritual, but as unto carnal, even as unto babes in Christ.

2 I have fed you with milk, and not with meat: for hitherto ye were not able to bear it, neither yet now are ye able.

Although they were members of the true church, he considered them. I do a comparison with you. You weren’t a member of the true church. The Corinthian were members of the true church, baptized in the Holy Spirit. Let’s go to prove that, first:

1 Corinthians 12:13

For by one Spirit are we all baptized into one body, whether we be Jews or Gentiles, whether we be bond or free; and have been all made to drink into one Spirit.

All the Corinthian are baptized. The apostle Paul is treating them like children in Christ. They didn’t have the capacity to understand or enduring heavy things about the words and commandments of God. He said when he wrote in the second letter to the Corinthians. The true, this second letter is the third letter to the Corinthians. He said to Corinthians in 2 Corinthians 12:20

2 Corinthians 12:20

For I fear that perhaps when I come I may find you not as I wish, and that you may find me not as you wish—that perhaps there may be quarreling, jealousy, anger, hostility, slander, gossip, conceit, and disorder.

21 I fear that when I come again my God may humble me before you, and I may have to mourn over many of those who sinned earlier and have not repented of the impurity, sexual immorality, and sensuality that they have practiced.

Immorality includes adultery and fornication. Pay attention, brother Oscar, I am teaching this because it’s in the Bible, no to teach you to sin intentionally against the words of God. But the apostle Paul knows that God is a merciful God who consider our weaknesses. The apostle Paul in 12:20: For I fear that perhaps when I come I may find you not as I wish, and that you may find me not as you wish—that perhaps there may be quarreling, jealousy, anger, hostility, slander, gossip, conceit, and disorder. I fear that when I come again my God may humble me before you, and I may have to mourn over many of those who sinned earlier and have not repented, he is given them the chance of to repent and I may have to mourn over many of those who sinned earlier and have not repented of the impurity, sexual immorality, and sensuality that they have practiced. Imagine the apostle of our Lord Jesus Christ speaking that to the Corinthians. In the time of Second of Corinthians they can’t considered like children. In the first letter they’re considered like children in Christ, but in the Second of Corinthians, after a long time, he wrote the second, the third letter to Corinthians, they were giving an opportunity to the Corinthians to repent.

I must repeat that I am reading these verses in the Bible, not for teaching you to sin, but to give hope to those who sinned, no deliberated but because of the flesh weakness.

I hope you have understood, brother Oscar.

Brother Oscar: I have understood very very well. It is a mistake of which I am very sorry and I will never do it again.

Brother Eli: Thanks be to God. God guides you and God bless you!

Leave a Reply

